Kid Quips

Jovelle, who just turned 2 in March, is talking up a storm, and we have so much fun listening to the things she comes up. As an English major, I find myself fascinated with how language develops and the construction of sentences, too – “Where is Daddy went?,” for example, and the time she used three tenses of verbs in one sentence.

Here are some recent things Judah and Jovelle have said.

IMG_1284

Grandpa trying to teach Jovelle her name:
• Grandpa: Jo
• Jovelle: Jo
• Grandpa: -velle
• Jovelle: -velle
• Grandpa: Jo-velle
• Jovelle: ME!

(Repeat above conversation several times over the span of several days.)

Judah proudly showing the plane he drew. (Actually, Chris and I were pretty impressed with it ourselves!)

Judah proudly showing the plane he drew. (Actually, Chris and I were pretty impressed with it ourselves!)

Judah, on shoes with velcro straps: You’re wearing your crunchy shoes?

Judah, on diversity: Mommy, all people in the whole world have the same teeth and the same tongue but different skin, right?

Judah, on sleeveless shirts: Why are you wearing that shirt? So someone can get your arm pit?

Judah, on growing older:
• Pointing to his arm: Daddy, look, see, my hair’s growing in!
• You’ve been old for ages, right, Daddy?
• My half birthday is coming up, and then soon I’ll be five, and that’s how growing works.

IMG_1312

Judah, on birth: First you start out in God’s mind, then you are in your mommy’s tummy, then when you come out and no one has seen you before, you’re called a newborn, and that’s how being born works.

IMG_1239

Jovelle
When scared: I’m too scary!
After sneezing: I blessed, Mommy.
After hurting herself: Sorry, me!
After eating a mango from the tree: My mango is NAKED!

Judah:
• Somebody broke this on accident. I think it was me.
• Pouring water: Mommy, I poured too much water, and I drank all of the too much.

On seeing the cow heads and other parts at the meat market:

IMG_0593

Jovelle, pointing to the heads: He has boo boo! Need band-aid!

Looking a little less than thrilled....

Looking a little less than thrilled….

And Judah, much less concerned about the cows, sighing: I like meat.

3 thoughts on “Kid Quips

  1. So funny! Glad you recorded them because the kids will enjoy when they are older. Two of our favorites: Joel (having just witnessed the birth of a calf) “I’m glad I’m not a girl.” Eric (table grace in cattle country) “Thank you for the food we eat and thank you for the flies we don’t eat.”

Leave a Reply

