Foodie “Friday”: More Ice Cream Recipes and Hot Fudge Sauce

I used to be a plain vanilla, no toppings kind of ice cream girl. Well, more specifically, a Breyer’s Natural Vanilla ice cream kind of girl. No need to mess with perfection by putting chocolate or anything on it.

I have since seen the error of my ways (though I still enjoy a bowl of plain vanilla ice cream every now and then) and now like to scoop on a big heap (or several big heaps) of hot fudge sauce and various other toppings. (Hershey’s syrup is not an adequate substitute, by the way, unless the situation is desperate. In fact, suggesting such is almost criminal.)

Now the quest for the perfect hot fudge recipe.  My mom used to make the most amazing hot fudge sauce, and everything I made paled in comparison. Of course I craved the sauce one night here when I couldn’t reach her, so I searched for a new recipe. Almost every recipe I found called for melted chocolate chips. CHOCOLATE CHIPS!!! Speaking of criminal! Chocolate chips are like gold here, and I couldn’t bear the thought of melting them down to use as a sauce when I knew my mom used cocoa powder. In fact, I was beginning to get incredibly irritated when I kept finding recipe after recipe that called for chips. I honestly do not understand this need to melt down chips when cocoa powder is usually cheaper and much less solid than chips, so you’re saving time, too. Finally I found a recipe that we’ve started using. (Why didn’t I just start with the Wycliffe cookbook? Oh, I remember – because I had tried it before but it didn’t compare to my mom’s, so I cast it off. When it came to sacrificing chips, though, I figured a sub-par hot fudge recipe that didn’t use chips was better than a 5-star Allrecipes one that did. Turns out it was much better than I had remembered. I wonder if I should give that gal I cast off in 12th grade a second chance, too. (Kidding.))

So anyway – here’s the hot fudge sauce we’ve been using because it’s basic – and chocolate chip-less – but yummy. (Hey, I can admit when I’m wrong.)

Hot Fudge Sauce

Combine in pan:

  • 1 cup sugar (We use less because we typically use les s sugar in most recipes. It makes me feel better about eating dessert 5 nights a week, anyway – if I can rationalize that each dessert has less sugar than intended, well, that makes it perfectly fine to eat more of it, right? RIGHT?)
  • 1 cup evaporated milk (In Nigeria, I just use the standard size can of evaporated milk, which is 159 mL – closer to ¾ cup –but we can’t tell the difference. Certainly not enough to open up another can for those extra milliliters, anyway. Or maybe we can’t tell the difference because
    we also reduce the sugar. Come to think of it, maybe we’re actually reducing the whole RECIPE. Hmm. I think I just made a mathematical breakthrough.)
  • ¼ c. cocoa
  • Dash salt (I usually omit.)
  • 3 tbsp. margarine or butter

Stir over heat with a wire whip until thick, then add 1 tsp. vanilla (I often forget this and it’s still fine.)

This sauce doesn’t start out as thick as my mom’s (You don’t suppose that could have anything to do with the impatience of the cook waiting to eat her ice cream, do you?), but once it sits awhile, it’s quite an ooze of yumminess; I actually find it’s better the next day. Not by itself when you casually walk past the pot and dip your fingers in it and suck off the chocolate-ly goodness, though. No, definitely not then.

Oh, and my mom has since sent me her recipe, too, but I haven’t made it here yet (though I did just get corn syrup so I might have to make it now. Cuz if you give a girl a hot fudge recipe, she’s gonna want to make it. And if she makes the hot fudge, she’s gonna have to make some ice cream….)

Mom’s Hot Fudge Sauce

  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa
  • 2/3 cup evaporated milk
  • 1/3 cup light corn syrup
  • 1/3 cup butter or margarine
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Combine sugar and cocoa in medium saucepan; blend in evaporated milk and corn syrup. Cook over low heat, stiring constantly, until mixture boils; boil and stir 1 minute. Remove from heat; stir in butter or margarine and vanilla. Serve warm. About 2 cups sauce.

Note: This sauce can be refrigerated for later use. Reheat in saucepan over very low heat, stirring constantly.

And in case the other ice cream recipe wasn’t to your liking (or powdered milk is too expensive where you live – sorry, Katylin!), here are a couple more that some friends sent us. I haven’t tried most of them, so I can’t vouch for them, but if you try any, let us know how they turn out. Some friends who have had some of these recipes suggested that they be relabeled “frozen dessert” or something other than ice cream so you don’t go into your frozen treat experience with expectations set too high, so you might want to try them before you serve them at the next dinner party.

Recipe #1 – Evaporated Milk “Ice Cream”

While I was typing this up for the blog, I did a double take…. No wonder my attempt at making this didn’t turn out.  How did I miss that this calls for EVAPORATED milk and not SWEETENED CONDENSED?!  I wondered why the recipe called for adding sugar to already-very-sweet-sweetened-condensed milk.  Oh my.  So, uh, anyone have any ideas about what to do with a container filled with sweetened condensed milk and sugar that just might be lurking in my fridge, the remains of a failed recipe??  Guess I will have to try this again… and who knows – maybe furiously beating the EVAPORATED milk will make more of a difference than beating sweetened condensed milk….

The woman who gave me this one said that she and her family LOVE it. So much that, though they are returning to the States soon, they will continue to make it there. I have to admit, however, that I was unable to make this one.  The recipe calls for a mixer, and let me tell you from experience that neither a blender nor a food processor nor a hand soup blender is a good substitute – or, uh, at least not with sweetened condensed milk! Furiously whipping the mixture together with a spoon does not work, either. Even if you’ve been working out. (Which I haven’t, but I did once, and I called upon all the strength I know I gained during that workout session to beat that ice cream mixture into submission, but alas!) Anyway, here’s frozen treat recipe #1. Which I will try as soon as I can find a mixer.

Ingredients:

  • 2 small cans evaporated milk (170 grams each), or 1 large can
  • 1 tsp vanilla or flavoring of choice
  • ¼ cup sugar

Chill evaporated milk in refrigerator for several hours or in freezer for 1 hour.  Open cans into mixing bowl, add 1 tsp of vanilla (rum or almond or whatever flavoring you want) and 1/4 cup of sugar.

Beat on highest speed on your mixer till doubles in size and soft peaks form.  This should only take a few minutes. Put bowl in freezer set at highest temp for a few hours, then it’s ready to serve; no need to stir.

Can eat immediately as soft serve or chill longer for firmer ice cream. Once ice cream is frozen you can turn the  freezer down to normal temp.

Tips:

  • A metal mixing bowl works best, but any type will do.
  • When partially frozen, try folding in shredded coconut, chocolate chips, nuts (buttered almond is good), mint chocolate chip, rum raisin, etc.

Recipe #2 – Frozen Banana Blender Ice Cream

This is one I’ve been wanting to try for a while that I haven’t had a chance to, but everyone who talks about it says it’s really good. Basically, you just blend frozen bananas, adding milk as needed to get the desired consistency. It supposedly doesn’t have too strong a banana taste to it, but I’m perplexed as to how an ice cream (which is usually described as more like a thick milk shake) made entirely of bananas COULDN’T taste like bananas, but maybe that’s just me! I’ve even thought this could be a fun, knock the socks off the kids breakfast treat – ice cream for breakfast?! Top it with nuts for protein, a fruit sauce and even some sprinkles, and I might earn Coolest Mom of the Year Award. Check out this blog for some yummy looking variations on this one.

Recipe #3 Yogurt Ice Cream

This one was sent to me by several people who all raved about it, so I’m guessing it’s yummy.

  • 2 tins (170 grams each) evaporated milk
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 package kool-aid mix (unsweetened) (Lemon or lime juice can be substituted)
  • 2 cup yogurt

Put milk tins, bowl and beaters in freezer to chill 20-30 minutes. Whip until double. Add sugar and beat. Add kool-aid and beat until stiff. Fold in yogurt by hand, mix and freeze.

So there you have it: frozen treats adapted for the mission field – just in time for… uh, the end of summer. Maybe next post I should focus on vegetables or something healthier, lest we all go into sugar shock.

Though I suppose if you do, you could sit at the computer in your sugar-induced coma and take the Nigerian English quiz we posted a couple days ago.  You still have some time before we unveil the answers.  😉

7 thoughts on “Foodie “Friday”: More Ice Cream Recipes and Hot Fudge Sauce

  1. Wow, I made it into your blog post!! It’s okay, you don’t have to feel too sorry for me. Maybe I’ll make some of your hot fudge sauce anyway. Not that I would eat it plain or anything. . .

    By the way, I am jealous of your beautiful blog header. Did you use scrapbook software to make it? Or do you have a Mac? Or are you unwilling to reveal the secrets of your brilliance? 😉

    • Of course not! It’s good dipped in bananas if you couldn’t bring yourself to eat it plain. 😉

      Re. the blog header, alas! I’m afraid I know nothing about such things. My best friend is an amazing artist and a graphic designer, and she made it. We periodicially send her a new picture and she graciously updates it. Which we should actually do again since Jovelle is a newborn in our picture.

      • LOL, Christie, that makes me feel much better about looking at the picture and thinking, “I have no idea how to go about doing pretty much any of that”!! She must have some fancy expensive software. 🙂

        I could probably think of some other things to dip in hot fudge sauce, too…maybe we’ll have hot fudge fondue sometime!

  2. Sounds yummy! 🙂 Also, just in case you desire whipped cream for your creations, place desired amount of skim milk in the freezer for about 30 min in order for it to get really cold. Then blend/beat the milk into cream. It actually makes a cool whip like substance! It doesn’t last forever though, you need to eat what you make. 🙂

    • Oooh, that is REALLY good to know! Interesting that it’s skim milk…. Usually things like that call for whole milk. Will definitely try this.

      And I owe you a message, BTW – I haven’t forgotten!

  3. Just came across your blog while trying to find where to buy mustard powder in Nigeria(I’m trying to make my own salad dressing to loose weight)….your love for my Country comes across,thank you for that. If U are still here in Nigeia,I hope U r still loving it(thought your last post was 2012) anyway,I know that the God who called you here is more than able to keep U safe and sound.

    • Thanks so much for your kind comment! We are still here and loving it. 🙂 We have done some recent posts, but we have not been able to post as much, as our internet doesn’t seem to be strong enough these days to let me edit posts and such. (Strange since I can access it and reply to comments and things. Perplexing.)

      p.s. Did you ever find mustard powder??

Leave a Reply

