Things I’m Missing Today

Things I’m Missing Today:

1.  Not being close to people I love when they’re hurting, even if nothing I say can make a difference and it’s just to sit in the same room and hug them

2.  Gyros.  (I made a curry tonight (Why do people say “a curry”?  No one says, “I made ‘a spaghetti.’”) and some cucumber yogurt to go with it, and the cucumber yogurt tasted like tazaki sauce.  Of course, that made us talk about gyros, which made me miss gyros…. It’s a vicious cycle….)

Mmm, pass the tazaki sauce!

3.  Clothes dryer.  Because hanging clothes up to dry at night just isn’t fun.  And there’s just something about hot clothes straight from the dryer.  So snuggly!  (We do have a dryer, but it only works when we have power.  And it doesn’t really heat, which defeats the purpose since the main reason we got it was to kill mango worms with a quick 10-minute spin since clothes take days to dry during rainy season.)

4.  My head lamp.  I got so used to our brief time with solar power that I stashed it somewhere, and I can’t remember where.

5.  Not needing my head lamp.  Solar, come back to me!  (For those who’ve been asking, our stint with solar power lasted about a week.  We smelt burning, but when the solar installers came to check it, they insisted it was nothing.  The next day our water heater wasn’t heating (It’s always something!), and the electrician found a burnt wire, so we attributed to smell to that since the solar was working fine.  The water heater was fixed yesterday, but today the inverter for our solar system started smoking.  Luckily it did it when the installers were there, so at least they believed us this time.  😉  There’s talk about shipping it back to the U.S. for a new one, and hopefully we will be back and running in about a month.  I have tasted power and it was scrumptious!  I can’t wait for it to be back!)


Things I’m digging
:

Lest you think I’m complaining, I am grateful for…

1.  Judah’s laugh  (For the record, I tried for several days straight to get the video to upload here, but it didn’t work, so alas!  Here’s a Facebook link for it.)

He cracks me up....

2.  Friendships that endure and even thrive despite distance

3.  Technology that helps friendships to endure and even thrive despite distance

4.  Hot water.  Oh, how I’ve missed you!  I had my first hot water shower in about 7 days.  (Don’t let the inclusion of the word “hot” deceive you into thinking I’ve settled for cold water showers, with the exception of a cold Marine bath I had after Judah threw up on me.  I hate cold showers.  So I went without.  A little Laura Ingalls Wilder-ish, but I felt surprisingly un-smelly.  Contrast that with when we lived in the States and if I didn’t take two showers a day I felt like a grunge, and I feel like I’ve grown.)

5.  This amazing goodie basket the teacher I substitute taught for a couple weeks ago gave me.  Look at the beautiful basket – and the amazing things IN it!  Pure gold!  Gravy mix, sauce mixes, CHOCOLATE CHIPS, even pimentos; I’m totally going to whip up some pimento cheese sandwiches like my Grandma makes.  Definitely way better than the money I would’ve gotten for teaching!

Who needs money when you have delicious goodies from the States?!

And there you have it.

3 thoughts on “Things I’m Missing Today

  1. SO!? Did you get the inverter working? Electrical consistency is an important part of not going totally insigne. History supports this. Think about the beginning of the industrial revolution when America has poor power support. Lots of crapy stuff happened. Really, your living through the South and Easts Industrial revolution. 🙂

  2. Aw, thanks, Jon. I was beginning to feel like a big ol’ weenie. 🙂 😉

    The solar system still isn’t set up, but Chris rigged a small inverter that can at least charge our laptops. It’s a start, but I’m still looking forward to the “flip on lights anytime I want” phase. Judah keeps pointing to the cd player we borrowed and wanting to hear music, so it’ll be nice to not have to keep telling him, “Sorry, Judah, there’s no power right now….” 🙂

  3. Hope your power is back by now!! We have friends who had two different inverters explode in flames, so apparently it DOES happen. Thankfully, not to you!

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Yes, I found you through Ruth H.s link on her blog. So how did you find out what we are doing? I hope to get a more ‘work-related’ blog up sometime soon. Anyway, nice to ‘meet’ you too!

    Grace,
    Kim
    P.S. Are you related to Winklers who taught Phonetics at OrSIL in summer 2001?

Leave a Reply

