Where is Home?

“Where is home?”

When I (Chris) lived in San Francisco, it was much simpler.  “I grew up in Michigan.”  That was an easy enough answer–at that point, I had spent all of my life in Michigan and all of my immediate family still lived there.

Things have since changed.  We recently returned to Nigeria from about seven weeks in the United States where we would often bump into people who would ask us where we were from.  “Well…” and then we would launch into a 13 minute monologue on how I was born in Michigan but lived in California before moving to Florida, which is where I met Christie and where she grew up…but we live in Nigeria and that is now home.  (And then ensues the next monologue about why in the world we would uproot our family and move to a country that is making the news for all the wrong reasons.)

We find ourselves calling both the U.S. and Nigeria “home.”  While confusing, it’s also accurate.  We have a beautiful house here in Jos, a community to which we belong, and a way of life which is uniquely ours.  Our passports say “United States of America,” a good majority of our friends and family live there, and when talking with others here we call it our “home country.”

As I type this, I’m looking at a wall hanging that one of our friends gave to us before leaving.  It reads: “The Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” (Joshua 1:9)

Thank you, Lord, for providing us with many homes–and that you are with us in each of them.

5 thoughts on “Where is Home?

  1. Tim and I have decided that “home” is wherever we are together. Usually it just means wherever we will sleep together that night. For now we are content with our nomad lifestyle. For now we are based out of our car. A different bed almost every night. For now we’re okay with it.

  2. So true. I’ve moved regularly in life and thank God that His Word is true. He has been with me everywhere I’ve gone and I have a few places I feel at home. Btw, I’m moving back to Holden Heights at the end of the week 🙂 Keep me posted on prayer requests. Oh, how is Sarah doing?

  3. Aw. 🙂
    We sure do miss you in the good ole’ US of A!

    …And…Even though it’s bittersweet at times ,I am glad you are finding “home” in Jos.

    I loved this post.

  4. Thanks, all!

    Shayna, that is indeed the wall hanging you got us. It’s currently on display on the credenza in our dining area. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

